Human Echolocation

Image

After another hiatus from blogging, I’m feeling the need to start back up again—this time for good. It occurred to me that brevity is actually as important as everyone says it is, and that I should be able to comment on something interesting each day with not too much effort.

It’s also time to revisit my reason for starting this blog in the first place. Online forums tend to evolve regardless of whether or not the creator decides that a shift in tone or motive is about to take place; sometimes only a very a nimble thread links consecutive thoughts or posts. At this point, though, I’m wondering if my interests are becoming so varied that it’s obvious I’m about to venture far from the epicenter of the original goal. As a production assistant for NOVA, I’m becoming more attuned to the science-y side of myself (I was a physics major too, after all)—but I still view everything in a way that’s pretty humanities-driven.

I want to widen the scope of what I write about on this blog. Why, then, am I still drawn to articles like this one [via NPR] when I search for topics to write on? Human echolocation… I guess it’s because taking a physical, “objective” phenomenon (echolocation in bats) and making it somehow, in some way applicable to our subjective experience and our daily lives, is really why I embrace the connections between science and the humanities. What are the patterns and the cultural myths behind (not about) science? In other words, what buoys science? How can something as basic as frequency in Hertz become a method of understanding our world subjectively as well as objectively? How can science and the humanities/arts come together to merge fact and fiction? How does a novel or a piece of music sometimes reveal more about “science” than a research paper might? And last, how can the things we learn about the world make us feel better equipped to handle our lives with richness and with vitality? How can science itself be a vehicle for human echolocation?

I still really have no clue what I’m talking about, and it’s probably apparent. All I know is that I want to start connecting science and perception and subjectivity and literature and the arts in a way that’s different from what other people do. And I want to comment on societal happenings and to engage with other writers and to continue to become more articulate.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Human Echolocation

  1. Bonnie Lies

    Good to read a new entry. I love your blog. It is always intellectually stimulating.

    I am not sure human echolocation is even possible. I know humans can locate direction and sometimes distance ob a sound, but that is a source sound. To echo, we would have to generate a sound and then determine direction and distance by that sound reflecting off something.

    Human use of echolocation is often used electronically with a sonar transmitter to emit a sound, a receiver to detect the echo and a processor to interpret. Some are so accurate that they display on a screen a photographic like image and very close GPS coordinates. Fisherman use these.

  2. Bonnie Lies

    I posted a comment before reading the article and watching the video. The video was especially impressive. I’ll keep an open mind.

Leave a comment